School of cardinalfish

pdt7361

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a standard 4ft 90g tank that I'm wanting to put a few more fish in. I've been looking at maybe doing some cardinalfish...something like the yellow stripe, red spot, or red stop light. Does anyone have much experience and success with keeping a school of these? And if so, what would you suggest?

SantaMonicaHelp

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experience working with cardinalfish, but I do think there are better looking cardinalfish out there than yellow stripes, red stoplights, or red spots. Try researching "Ring-tailed cardinalfish", they're my favorite cardinalfish. Here's a picture of a school:
Ring-tail_Cardinalfish,_Apogon_aureus.jpg

- C. Smith

OP
OP
P

pdt7361

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Definitely another one to consider...thank you for the recommendation.

Ike

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The red spots have VERY high mortality rates in captivity. Unless you're willing to buy something like 15 of them to hope you end up with a little group (but don't be surprised if none make it) it's probably best to skip them. The stoplight cardinals seem to be very cryptic and nocturnal.